top of page

NSTRA Rule Book

Latest Edition on Line

Updates have been made to the NSTRA Rule Book.   You can find the latest version here.

Election Results

Officers & Board of Directors

Results from the recent election:

President Dennis Jones

1st Vice President Jeff Porco

Board of Directors:

Jim Mahoney

Donnie Stir

John Gillespie

Logan Johns was appointed to the BoD to fill the vacancy created when Dennis Jones became President.  This year an electronic voting system was used resulting in a record of over 70% participation in the election.

Electronic Voting

New this year!

This year the Ohio Region Officers and BoD have decided to move to an electronic ballot for our elections. The cost of printing and mailing ballots has become cost prohibitive. The electronic ballot is simple is use and completely anonymous. All Ohio Region members in good standing will receive an email and a text message with a link to your ballot. You can vote using a desktop or your phone. Paper ballots can be provided to any member upon request.   If your email or phone is missing or has changed from what is in the the National office files, please update right away!  If you have any questions or concerns about the process, contact Region Secretary Jayne Abney.

Follow Us on Instagram

Don't miss out... 

Follow the Ohio Region on Instagram!  #ohionstra  When we reach 500 followers, we will draw a random name to win a "Bird Dog Care Pack"! 

Purple Leash Project

A big success... Thank you!

The Ohio Region presented Harmony Thoma, Child & Family Counselor & Community Relations Coordinator from the Family Violence Prevention Center in Xenia a check for over $2500 to help with the costs of housing domestic violence survivors with their pets.


Thank you to everyone that made this fundraiser successful, especially our President John Gillespie who organized this event!

#PurpleLeashProject #nstradogs #ohioregion

Important Update on Trials

Effective Immediately

Change to Upcoming Ohio Trials

The Ohio Region has always leaned on our neighboring regions and from all across our state for individuals to help officiate our trials. Due to rising gas prices, effective immediately all weekend trials at Mahoney Farms, Silver Dollar Sportsman’s Club & Fairchild's Pheasant Farm will be charging $45.00 per brace. This money will help offset costs for our judges and bird planters. In a full 16 brace double/double trial each club will receive $320 in additional income, this money will be used to accommodate trial officials for their gas, lodging, and meals and is not to be used as additional profits.  Region President John Gillespie has spoken to the landowners and trial chairman along with the National office to make the change.


Registering Your Dog

With the new NSTRA rule implementation, effective June 1, 2022, “A dog must be registered with a recognized registry and registration sent to the NSTRA Office to enter any NSTRA trial”.   Be sure to get your dogs registered!

Be aware there can be significant delays in processing registrations.   Currently on the United Kennel Club (UKC) website:   Mailing notice for paperwork:  please allow 2-3 extra weeks, in addition to UKC processing time, due to nationwide postal service delays.

With the acquisition of American Field by United Kennel Club, the main UKC office in Kalamazoo, Michigan is now the official mail hub for mail.

The Kalamazoo mailing address:
100 E. Kilgore Rd.
Kalamazoo, MI 49002

When mailing items to the Kalamazoo office, note whether the contents are UKC or American Field/Field Dog Stud Book items, with an ATTN line.

You can find more information on UKC registrations on their website

Rule Change...Registrations

Eligibility Changes

From NSTRA President Bill Sumpter on Rule Change:

The vote on the Rule 8.04 change passed 318 yes to 43 no.

8.04 A dog must be registered with a recognized registry and registration sent to the NSTRA Office to enter any NSTRA trial. Rule 7.06 States Rule Changes will become effective immediately upon publication. However, our magazine publication and mailings have been in tremendous flux, we are not sure exactly when the magazine is going to be mailed. We also know that some members are receiving magazines as much as 3 weeks after others. Also, programming in the operating system needs to change such that all trial managers/chairs cannot simply create a new dog. As a result the effective date will be June 1, 2022.

Our office staff is committed to ensuring the processing of registrations within 24 hrs of receipt.

On line Judging Tests

Simplifying the Recertification Process


The online judging test is now fully operational.  You will recieve an  e-mail, one-month prior to your judging credential's expiration.  It will have a link that takes you to the test.  If you don't receive an e-mail, you can contact the office for the link.  Note that there are some requirements to take the test:

  • You must have been an active judge at least 3 years prior to taking the test.

  • You must pass the test with a 90% score or better.

  • If you fail the test twice, you are required to take a seminar.

  • New judges must take a  seminar and ride braces to receive their credentials as always.

NSTRA Amateur Program

Supplemental Guidelines


NSTRA has made significant changes to the amateur program.  Read the complete report here.

  • Instagram
bottom of page